Zodiak Kids & Family Distribution Acquires Moominvalley

3 October, 2023

Banijay Kids & Family today announces its distribution arm, Zodiak Kids & Family Distribution, will represent all four seasons of the animated family drama series, Moominvalley. Inspired by the much-loved Moomin stories by Tove Jansson, it is produced by Finnish production company Gutsy Animations in collaboration with YLE and Sky and, additionally, Viaplay for the fourth season.

The Emmy®-nominated series brings the Moomins into 3D with a unique visual style combining high quality CGI and painterly effects. It is a whimsical, coming-of-age story of family and friendship, which explores humanity, relationships and emotions, as the Moomins work together to restore harmony to their titular home. The series also features a high-profile voice cast, including Rosamund Pike, Bel Powley, Warwick Davis, Matt Berry, Akiya Henry, Jennifer Saunders, Will Self, and Julian Barratt.

Delphine Dumont, Chief Commercial Officer, Banijay Kids & Family says: “Moominvalley is a beautifully crafted animation, with timely themes of the environment, sustainability, and respect for nature, all of which will strongly appeal to our buyers globally. This is such an iconic brand that resonates with audiences of all ages and across borders, and it is a wonderful, complimentary addition to our diverse and exciting portfolio of titles.”

Katherine Senior, Head of International Sales, Gutsy Animations says: “I am delighted to be working with the great team at Zodiak Kids & Family Distribution to expand our international reach of the award-winning Moominvalley series.  I am certain we will be bringing our animated family drama to many more homes around the world.”

The award-winning Finnish content creator Marika Makaroff is creative director of Moominvalley. The series director of the first two seasons is the Oscar®-winning Steve Box (The Curse of the Were-Rabbit). Season 3 is directed by the episode directors from previous seasons; Nigel Davies, Sara Barbas (Final Call), Darren Robbie (Doc McStuffins) and Jay Grace (Shaun the Sheep). Season 4 series director is Nigel Davis (Shaun the Sheep Movie). Season 1 is produced by the BAFTA®-winning producer John Woolley (Shaun the Sheep), Season 2 by Louise Holmes (Shaun of the Sheep) and Seasons 3 and 4 by Stephen Dorrance (Happy!). Head writers for the first three seasons are the Emmy®-winning writing duo Mark Huckerby and Nick Ostler (Peter Rabbit). Season 4 head writer is Diana Whitley (House of Anubis).

The 3D animation is made at Anima Vitae – a Finnish animation studio located in Helsinki and Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. The score music is composed by the acclaimed percussionist Samuli Kosminen, multi-instrumentalist Jarmo Saari and violinist Pekka Kuusisto.